NEWS

 

Latest news:

 

Sacrificing Starlight is now available from the Buchhandlung Ruthmann, Mühlenkamp, Hamburg and all local Amazon stores.

 

Starlight in good company

Introducing Sacrificing Starlight to Jörn Degenhard

The launch party was held at Caruso, our favourite Italian reastaurant in Hamburg, where chef extraordinaire, Antonio Criscuolo, conjured up more of his magical dishes. 

Lunch in Caruso, on this special occasion to thank my very good friend and photographer, Bernhard Bach, for his support in getting Sacrificing Starlight on the road.

What the readers are saying

 5.0 out of 5 starsNNNNotfor the Not for the faint hearted

Not for the faint hearted
ByJane Sacks on 22 September 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|

5.0 out of 5 stars

By adrian bernard churchward on 2 September 2017
 
This book is the ultimate marmite of the literary world. Readers will either love it or hate it. The storyline is set out in the Product Information section on
this site. Any further elucidation would doubtless lead to spoilers.

The two main protagonists are (i) DCI Hunter: laconic, enigmatic and hard-bitten and (ii) Ben Trevelyan: lone wolf war veteran, vigilante and, some might
say, sadist. They are both on a mission, apparently to track down and eradicate a paedophile ring.

The adult-on-adult violence committed by these two is, at times, grotesque; but in the case of Trevelyan at least, understandable. There are times when
people feel compelled to take the law into their own hands, despite the consequences for themselves and their disrespect for the rule of law and due
process. I can sympathise with their actions in this case, as the poison of paedophilia courses through the veins of a community of so-called respectable
members of the Establishment.

A minor gripe: with a plethora of characters of "War and Peace" proportions, and multi points of view, the book would have made my reading easier with
a cast list in its front matter. On the hand, the twist, or "reveal", wasn't telescoped and I was eased into it at the appropriate time.

However, it was the theme that most resonated with me. It's a story that should be told, if only to widen public knowledge of the endemic cancer of child
abuse which appears to be metastasing across all classes, cultures and religions in today's society i.e. it is regrettably not restricted to works of fiction.

On several levels this is a story that raises Juvenal's famous question: quis custodiet, ipsos custodes? who watches the watchers? For that alone
it deserves the 5* - even though I hate marmite.
This book is the ultimate marmite of the literary world. Readers will either love it or hate it. The storyline is set out in the Product Information section on this site. Any further elucidation would doubtless lead to spoilers.

The two main protagonists are (i) DCI Hurdle: laconic, enigmatic and hard-bitten and (ii) Ben Trevelyan: lone wolf war veteran, vigilante and, some might say, sadist. They are both on a mission, apparently to track down and eradicate a paedophile ring.

The adult-on-adult violence committed by these two is, at times, grotesque; but in the case of Trevelyan at least, understandable. There are times when people feel compelled to take the law into their own hands, despite the consequences for themselves and their disrespect for the rule of law and due process. I can sympathise with their actions in this case, as the poison of paedophilia courses through the veins of a community of so-called respectable members of the Establishment.

A minor gripe: with a plethora of characters of "War and Peace" proportions, and multi points of view, the book would have made my reading easier with a cast list in its front matter. On the hand, the twist, or "reveal", wasn't telescoped and I was eased into it at the appropriate time.

However, it was the theme that most resonated with me. It's a story that should be told, if only to widen public knowledge of the endemic cancer of child abuse which appears to be metastasing across all classes, cultures and religions in today's society i.e. it is regrettably not restricted to works of fiction.

On several levels this is a story that raises Juvenal's famous question: quis custodiet, ipsos custodes? who watches the watchers? For that alone it deserves the 5* - even though I hate marmite.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

28 August 2017
Very dark. Very well written. Multi-faceted characters.
This is an excellent book. Smashes all your expectations
And the ending is bleak.

5.0 out of 5 stars

 
 
 
 
By John Baker on 2 May 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
Crisp descriptive writing by David Pipe ensures a well-paced story, albeit it an unsettling one, that will pull you through page by page. Something all
good reads should do. This book is a good example of how it should be done. DCI Hunter will no doubt be turning up to solve more cases in the future.
A writer to watch out for.

 

Format: Taschenbuch Verifizierter Kauf
An einem Tag, an dem über fast 4500 Fälle von Kindesmissbrauch in der Katholischen Kirche in Australien berichtet worden ist, bekommt dieses
Buch eine ungeahnte Bedeutung. Dies ist nicht nur ein spannender Krimi er stellt auch Fragen mit denen wir uns alle beschäftigen sollten.
Die wichtigste Frage ist, wem können wir unsere Kinder anvertrauen? Können wir überhaupt Jemandem vertrauen? Mit Einblicken in die rechtlichen,
kirchlichen und politischen Systeme, die ein verheerendes Bild von Mittäterschaft darstellen, muss man Angst haben, wenn man seine Kinder selber
nicht spielen hört oder sieht. Wie wir wissen und heute bestätigt bekommen haben, passieren diese grausamen Taten überall.
Wenn Sie wissen wollen was hinter den Kulissen passiert dann lesen Sie Sacrificing Starlight selbst.
Mir hat das Buch sehr gut gefallen. Absolut lesenswert!

4.0 out of 5 stars

ByAmazon Customeron 27 January 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Spannende Wendungen im Corwall Krimi

17 December, 2016

Ein toller, bis zum letzten Moment spannender  Krimi mit vielen unerwarteten Wendungen. Man fragt sich immer wieder wem man noch vertrauen kann. In der Idylle Corwalls tun sich menschliche Abgründe auf. Im Hinblick auf die realen Fälle von Kindesmissbrauch die jeder Leser aus den Medien kennt, stellt man sich die Frage was würde ich alles tun um mein Kind zu rächen.

5.0 von 5 SternenDas Gegenteil von "heile welt", 10. Dezember 2016
Von 

 

Rezension bezieht sich auf: Sacrificing Starlight (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Eine wahnsinnig spannende Geschichte, die den Leser bis zur allerletzten Seite fesselt und in ihren Bann zieht!
In Cornwall spielend setzt die Geschichte den totalen Kontrapunkt gegenüber dem lieblichen, von Rosamunde Pilcher geprägten, Landschaftsbild und zeigt das Land vielmehr in seiner Rauh‎eit und die Gesellschaft in ihrer Enge und verschworenen Geschlossenheit. Der Leser verliert nach und nach das Vertrauen in die handelnden Personen, da deren Verstrickungen in den Kriminalfall immer klarer werden.
Das Buch zeichnet sich durch eine exzellente und sehr präzise Sprache aus‎, die mit knappen Beschreibungen beim Leser teilweise erschreckende, auf jeden Fall sehr aussagekräftige Bilder erzeugt.

  out of 5 stars

 
 
 
 
 
 
 6 Dec. 2016
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
More twists turns and hair-raising moments than the scariest ride in the fun-fair. A plot that storms along and leaves you wondering quite who to trust.
Just be grateful it's a novel; even though there are plenty of horrifically similar parallel threads to real-life. A great read..

5.0 von 5 Sternen

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 25. November 2016
 Format: Taschenbuch Verifizierter Kauf
 Without detailing the horror of the children's experiences the author, in a dramatic, enthralling story describes the hopelessness of the abandoned
 children. Set in the wild, lonely Cornish landscape the story opens our eyes to the reality of the ease with which children can be abducted and sold to
 perverse, child abusers. With the two main characters, DCI Michael Hunter and Ben Trevelyan, it is easy to understand the need for retribution on the
 one hand and the requirements of the justice system on the other. Given that society is permeated at every level by the perpetrators of these evil
 crimes, Trevelyan's brutality and Hunter's lack of faith in the justice system he is required to implement are not only understanderable but completely
 frustating since neither of their strategies solve the problem. The question I finally had to answer was what would I do if my child had been abducted.
Iin a story similar to 'A History of Lonileness' by John Boyne, we are confronted with our own helplessnes in the face of the almost invisible but ever
 present network of child abusers. I'm for Trevelyan. A well written story which weaves a web of intrigue right up to the last sentence.

 

Druckversion Druckversion | Sitemap
© David Pipe